The silly pre-cruise thoughts by the dean of silliness :)

” Se Paciente  !!!!!

This is what I’ve been telling to my little tetchy self as I was getting ready for another cruise … a further and a more protracted one this time but helas ! all of the tips that used to calm me down are no longer fruitful and none of the benefits of being “home” managed to take the feelings, facts and images of travelling off of my eyes. I who decided and is pleased to make a life out of saying Hi and goodbye. It’s been quiet a long time since the last fine I got for those stolen puffs in the plane’s lavatory. I missed those butterflies in the stomach and the rush, the run to the airport with that fiendish voice in the head ” it’s late already” then realizing you’re maybe the first comer so you go to the people, elicit their stories, crack jokes and even squabble over everything and nothing in an imprudent escape from “time”.

The time that though I always had to brawl with for unspecified reasons before having a pact which was always broken in two shakes of a lamb’s tail I’m proud to admit its necessity, its great influence on my life and would even thank for the way it shaped me like nothing else did. Now I’m having a strange, silly but strong belief that time is the best enemy one can have in his life for a simple reason that may not be so justifiable.

An enemy can’t be temporary. It has to be perpetual and equally powerful so the combat would last as long as possible…. a lifetime and must come to an end under a sole condition which is the disappearance of both adversaries because confronting, winning a fight with someone/ something then being sure of his/ its vanishing and the impossibility of having one more round would rather generate sadness, sorrow and dejection than giving me elation which is the result of getting engaged in a conflict with any of the other so-called “enemies” ranging from governments, diseases, financial hardships to narrow-minded people, a dangerous stray dog and even theories of racism.

2 thoughts on “The silly pre-cruise thoughts by the dean of silliness :)

Comments are closed.